Run with the Story!

Watch out!

Story got me on the run!

Move out of the way!

You will get written into the story!

If the story is just writing itself, let it. Don’t stop writing. Don’t think about it, just write. I know it sounds crazy, but sometime you just have to write whatever comes to mind…you can always fix it or deleted it in the editing.

My first novel, which I do talk about a lot on this blog, Slayers wasn’t plan. I had an idea and a character, that’s all I had. I wrote the story as it came to me, all the things I thought it would need to be say/read, all the confusing parts and stupid parts are there. I wrote it and I am very happy with what I did. Now was it done the “right” way, nope; but it’s written. Is there a a lot to fix, hell yeah. This is the “fun” part, said Hubert to me, the editing part. You ran with the story, now you have to slow down and pick at it.

First your mind will race itself to write the story, confusing part and all. Then you will have to put your brain on slow motion, and slowly read every word it wrote. Once you get a hand of it, you will see the “fun” part of editing.

I don’t know what else to tell you. It isn’t something hard to understand, most quotes on writing are like:

“You have to write the book that wants to be written. And if the book will be too difficult for grown-ups, then you write it for children.” 

― Madeleine L’Engle

“If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.” 

― Toni Morrison

“We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect.” 

― Anaïs Nin

“No tears in the writer, no tears in the reader. No surprise in the writer, no surprise in the reader.” 

― Robert Frost

“Read, read, read. Read everything — trash, classics, good and bad, and see how they do it. Just like a carpenter who works as an apprentice and studies the master. Read! You’ll absorb it.

Then write. If it’s good, you’ll find out. If it’s not, throw it out of the window.” 

― William Faulkner

“The first draft of anything is shit.” 

― Ernest Hemingway

“I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things I’m afraid of. ” 

― Joss Whedon

Those were my favorites…sorry I couldn’t help myself. LOL

Night Owl,

A.Goddess

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

