Behind the Curtains: May

Hubert decided to ask me questions about writing. So today, my lovely writers and readers will be going behind my curtains to know my secrets. I will be answer these questions as honest as I can, like I always do with you all.

1. How would you describe your writing process?

My writing process looks a little like this:

The only different is, my prewriting is done in my mind. The writing is done in three very different ways: notebook, paper and folder, and computer. I don’t really have a respond…well I have you, Hubert, who reads it and tells me it need to be fix or it could be better, but other than that I don’t get the comments I look for when I post up online. For me revising and editing are the same thing, which can be hard to deal with, but for some, like you Hubert, it is the best part of writing.

2. Did you always know you wanted to be a writer or was it something you stumbled on?

I was always making up stories in my head, I still haven’t stopped, but I didn’t think about being a writer. I found out I was a good writer back in Eight grade, but still didn’t think about being a writer. It wasn’t until Freshman year in High School that I knew I wanted to be one. It all started with reading Twilight, and me being cocky about writing something way better than it.

3. How does a novel start for you?

For me, my novel start in-between chapters that haven’t been written or might not even get to be written. The first novel I wrote, which was crap and is being rewriting again, it actually started in the second book. I didn’t like the idea of having flash backs and decided to write the first book as the second book and write the flash backs as the first book, so you can see the main character grow into her world. After that novel was written, all my other books have been see in small scenes and the idea grows from that. It fun watching them grow though.

4. What part of the writing process do you enjoy most?

Um…I don’t know. It have to be actually writing the story and doing the research on the story and characters. Actually, thinking about it more, it have to be meeting the characters.

5. You have two very successful stories up on Wattpad, Spectrum and The Siren Effect, what was the inspiration behind the two novels?

Spectrum was written and finished before my first novel, funny right? Yet, Spectrum everyone felt in love with it. I wrote Spectrum as a sex slave because I was reading a lot of stories about sex slave and how they all need a man/vampire to save them. I have never been the type of girl that needed saving so I wrote Elizabeth’s (the main character) story.

Now The Siren Effect, the reason I wrote this story, and I’m still writing, is because I was going back to edited Spectrum and couldn’t find Elizabeth’s voice, and I meet Morgan. Morgan’s story was very different from Elizabeth’s. Morgan started out as a strong character, then a vampire broke her spirit. She had to learn how to become herself again, the strong identity thief woman who could sing herself out of any trouble (something I didn’t put into the story. *wink* She truly is a bad ass.)

6. How much research do you do for a novel and how much of that research actually makes it into the book? How do you decide what to keep from the research and what to change for your purpose?

When I first started to write, I didn’t do any research not all. Now I have challenged myself, into a world that doesn’t get written a lot, or a world that isn’t looked at as much anymore. So my research, go way deep into the world, so deep I know about the main character’s ancestors first started, and who were actually the first people before them.

At the moment, I can’t really tell how much of my research will go into the book, I haven’t found my balance yet, but as soon as I know, you will too.

I keep everything I found in my research, just like J.K. Rowling.

So far the only thing, I can remember on what has change my purpose is I have a scene where my main character goes to a party, in my research I found out about some of the party they have, so I will have to work on my timeline from her birthday and the party to happen on the same date, plus she in college so I have to work with that too.

7. How long does it take you to write a novel?

*sigh* I don’t have a schedule, so it can take me a long time to finish a novel. My first novel took me four years to finish, just to find out that I didn’t have a main plot. Specturm took me a year, but I was working on two other novels at the same time. Which is another reason why I can’t really tell how long it take me to write just one novel.

8. Do you outline or do you let the story take you where it wants to go? If you outline, how does that look?

I do both, depending on the story. Sometimes, I can just write the story and the main plot is written into it. Other times, I start writing and I draw blank, don’t know where to do or how to go to it. My outline have been posted up, check out Outline with the Goddess.

9. Do you write by word count (e.g. I must write 4,000 words a day) or do you write a chapter a day or whatever comes?

I wish I could write 4,000 words a day, ha. Sometime I open up a doc, and nothing new gets written. So I don’t push myself to write, but that doesn’t mean I don’t work. I research, or I edit, or I reread my story, or look for something to blog about. I never stop thinking about my stories. I have pictures in my phone of ideas to use for my stories. But writing by word count, I can’t do yet…but I will, one day.

10. What advice would you have for those of us who want to be writers?

I started this blog–I restarted this blog, was to give advice to writers who are beginning to write. So if they have anything they was advice on, tell me I blog about it. The only thing I can advice on, is READ AND WRITE AT THE TIME, NEVER STOP.

11. If you could go back to when you first started writing, what advice or words of wisdom would you give to your younger self?

Oh man, we’ve talked about this. Um…I would say don’t give up, keep writing…oh and Slayer doesn’t have a main plot work on it now before you make me start all over.

12. How different/similar was the writing process for Spectrum and The Siren Effect?

The different between them both was Specturm was writing without outlining, while The Siren Effect was written with an outline and was more research and I have to put in more work withe the timeline.

The similar between the both was they have from the same family, grow up together, both lost their moms, didn’t have any family helping them through the things they faced.

13. How do you feel you have improved as a writer in the last couple of years?

In the seven, almost eight years of writing, I have learned so much. Actually look at Spectrum and The Siren Effect and you can tell a big different in my writing and I am very proud of it. I still have a lot more to learn, but I am getting there.

14. What do you feel you do best in writing?

My best has to be telling the story, keeping the readers wanting more of the story.

15. How vivid do you see the story in your mind when you’re writing it?

I see some scene clear as day, and the other stuff is more work to write, which is fun because you never know what’s going to happen until it does.

16. Do you ever have moments of insecurity? And how do you overcome them?

I have many moments of insecurity. I have my own father tell me that my writing sucks, yet it stopped bothering me because he hasn’t read any of my stories.

To overcome them, I talk to you, Hubert or I read comments on Wattpad from my readers, or I just eat ice cream until I feel better. Once thing I do is, I don’t write when I’m like that. I don’t want my readers to feel that emotion in my writing.

17. Who is your favorite author? Book? Genre?

My favorite author is…Laurell K, Hamilton. Not Stephenie Meyer, surprise? I think so, anyways, Mrs. Hamilton is the best  writer I know…that I have read. The way she write about her characters and the stories, its a work of master piece.

My favorite book….that’s a hard one…I don’t know which one to pick…if I had to save one, I would die with them, lol. I can’t have a favorite, to me its like asking to pick your favorite kid, you can’t do it.

My favorite genre anything fiction. I have read so many different type of stories back in High school that were so boring to me, that I hate reading anything a teacher asks us to read. I will try to read it, but if I don’t like it, I won’t read it. I very picky at books, but anything fiction I will try to read…I had to read the new book that came out this year, called “All the Light We Cannot See,” it was a great story, but it wasn’t my cup of tea.

18. If you could sit down with any writer and have a conversation with them, who would it be and why? It can be a living or dead writer.

LAURELL K HAMILTON!!! I would love to learn from her, mind read her mind, pick at her world building. I know I would learn so much from her and the same day I would write my best seller.

19. Who is your biggest influence in writing?

This has to be the only question for me that’s really hard to answer. Um…Laurel K. Hamilton writing influence my writing, at least with the world building and characters design. My influence comes also from pictures and places, like I said I have a lot of pictures in my phone for ideas on stories and characters. Sometimes shows, movies and books, influence my writing, so much that I am just writing a fan – fiction instead.

20. How do you see yourself five years from now?

In five years, hopefully finishing law school and a publish author. I might be married but not with kids yet, or maybe with one kid, who know. All I know is I’ll be finishing college and still a writer.

21. Why do you write?

I have wrote about this in my writing class, twice and so far, I think I figured it out. I write because writing is a way of breathing for me. Without writing, I wouldn’t be the person I am today. I have face fears through my characters. I have loved and died many time, yet I felt none myself. I have killed many people without getting into trouble or going to jail. I am a Goddess through my writing, I make the laws and make the world. I decided who dies and who lives. I write also to get away from the real world, to escape from my life and into a different life. I could do things I can’t do, to dream and have the readers dream with me. To be someone for a day. To fall in love countless of times without being judge by it. To fight monsters bigger than life itself.

If there was a question you would like to know, just ask in the comments and I shall rely as soon as I can. Thank you for reading. Thank you Hubert for the questions, I love you my best friend.

Night Owl up before noon,

AGoddess with Hubert Vasquez

P.S.

Sorry for the late post.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

